The End

Sorry it has been so long since my last post! A lot has happened since June and I am going to fill you in with pictures!

In June, I had a going away party with my community in Alidi. I will never forget the love, compassion, and friendship they showed me. I will be forever grateful for my two years in this incredible village.

IMG_3497.JPG
Community Members at the party
IMG_4541.JPG
Holding a baby named after my dad…literally named ‘Dennis Vecchi’
IMG_4534.JPG
my favorite girls!
IMG_3514.JPG
Health Centre Staff
IMG_3525.JPG
My neighbor and best friend, Beatrice

Packing up and leaving two years of your life is much harder than I thought. Even harder knowing that I may never see these people again…or live this simply, freely, or happily. For all the hard times and struggles, I loved Uganda and Ugandans with all my heart. The country transformed me into my best self and I will always be thankful for that. I met, worked with, and loved some truly incredible people. It is certainly a time in my life that I will never forget. Uganda will always have a large part of my heart and a little piece of me will always be longing to go back to the dirt, the laughing children, and the gracious people.

At the very end of June, I COS’d from Peace Corps Uganda. COS means close of service. Just that like, I was a Returned Peace corps Volunteer…for one month. It was hard to say goodbye to my friends who have become like family, but I was excited for my new adventure! I flew home to Boston for one month, which turned into six weeks, and then headed to Malawi for my new role as National Malaria Coordinator…more details to come!

IMG_4646.JPG
Gonging out…I’m Done!
IMG_3595.JPG
Saying goodbye to Reeve has hard but I’ll see him next month in Malawi!
IMG_4655.JPG
The Lira Crew!

One thought on “The End

Leave a comment